Georgia O’Keeffe, slow learner

Happy 125th Birthday, Georgia O’Keeffe. Here’s my humble homage to you.

Not convinced that Georgia O’Keeffe was a slow learner?

Consider how she honored the deliberate and intentional slowness in her work. In her own words:

“Nobody sees a flower – really – it is so small it takes time – we haven’t time – and to see takes time, like to have a friend takes time.”

Consider her reflections on her own  learning.

“I said to myself, I have things in my head that are not like what anyone has taught me – shapes and ideas so near to me – so natural to my way of being and thinking that it hasn’t occurred to me to put them down. I decided to start anew, to strip away what I had been taught. ”

and her advice to other slow learners.

“Whether you succeed or not is irrelevant, there is no such thing. Making your unknown known is the important thing.”

4 thoughts on “Georgia O’Keeffe, slow learner

  1. After 5 minutes, turn the pizza 180 degrees to insure even cooking.
    The grill unfortunately is a risky place to cook meals, and also the griddle can
    be a great present towards the wellbeing aware. Add the water a teaspoon at a time so
    it’s not over done.

  2. certainly like your website bbut you have to test the spelling on several of your posts.
    Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very bothersome
    to tell the reality however I will certainly come again
    again.

  3. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would
    have some experience with something like this. Please
    let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

